Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

TheCursedChild

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child: J.K Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

WOW. Let me start by saying that I loved this book and I read it in about… three hours? I have loved Harry Potter since I read it when I was about 10. I honestly don’t think that I have ever read a series that I have loved more than Harry Potter. I mean, my greatest wish is to one day go to Harry Potter World and experience Universal’s take on the series… well, that and so I can try butterbeer, get my wand and be sorted into a house. Haha. I’m dead serious by the way. So understanding my love of the whole series, you can imagine my reaction when I found out there was to be another story to add to this amazing series!

I think it’s important to note that this book is a play that was written with Rowling but I read online that Tiffany and Thorne are the main writers of the play with support from Rowling. In summary, this story takes place in the wizarding world when Harry is 37, married to Ginny and has 3 kids all ready for Hogwarts. The plot revolves around Harry’s middle child, Albus who is expected to be a mini Harry but after being sorted into a different house from his siblings and family, quickly discovers that he is so different from them. Albus is supposed to play the black sheep of the family to the ninth degree. I found that while it made the story interesting it did get a bit annoying with the huge chip on Albus’ shoulder at the fact that his dad is Harry Potter and yet Albus feels like he can’t fit in and play the role of being his son. I felt that at some parts of the book, while I did like the plot, there were a few moments where the story felt like fan fiction. It was almost like someone was forcing somethings to happen, where as Rowling’s books always felt effortless… do you kind of get what I mean? I think this book is definitely worthy of a read and while I will include it as being the eighth book in the series (some people are not including it), I just think that it would have been better if it was written with maybe more of Rowling’s writing, or just written based on the play but as a novel. I liked that the authors decided to publish the script for this play but I’ve never really read anything in play format; I had to adjust my reading of the book to accommodate that there was no in depth narrative like a novel to help me picture what was going on. The little descriptions at the beginning of each scene or act is helpful but I’m the kind of reader who loves the descriptions of everything so I can get a really clear picture in my mind of what’s happening. Either way, something needed to be fixed but I just can’t decide what. 10/10 for this book though, it did feel like a hug from an old friend. Haha.

 

One thought on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. Pingback: A Great and Terrible Beauty | Riley Alexandra

Leave a Reply

